The Wedding recap – Episode 107

wedding

 

Ok, guys, the wedding happened on Saturday and I’m just now writing a wee recap.

So many people I know have done amazing recaps – be them funny, serious, critical, whatever. So even though I feel like so many angles of this particular episode have been hashed and rehashed already, here is MY take.

For starters, I guess it is safe to say that I am a huge fan of the books. Read them all, love them all, blah blah. Taking that into consideration, if you only want a show that follows directly with the books, you are not only cheating yourself out of enjoying a really fantastic show, you are also probably going to be disappointed with some things that happened in this episode.

When the show first aired, I immediately threw the books out the window. (not literally, I love my books) But because not everything that happens in the books (especially the dialogue) is going to work on the screen. I have enjoyed every episode since the beginning and that is because as a whole Outlander is just good story telling. It’s compelling and visually stunning and moving and exciting and that is what Outlander is anyway. That doesn’t mean I don’t have questions or criticisms at time. But as long as the essence of my favorite book series is in front of me, I’ll save my judgement for the quality of the production over what lines were dropped from the book.

So, moving on.

claireandfrank

 

We open with Claire and Frank’s proposal and essentially their wedding day. Can I just stop for a minute and gawk at how amazing her outfit is? That hat. The structure of that suit. Incredible.

We continue to the kiss that seals Claire and Jamie as husband and wife, and so we’ll continue to see this sort of flashbacks and jumping around over the course of the episode. It’s a lovely way to remind the audience of Claire’s past life, as well as give us glimpses of whats happened over the course of the wedding day, from the bridal chamber.

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 9.46.50 AM

A toast to a Bride of astonishing beauty.

 

weddingnight

We see Jamie and Claire coming to terms with being all married. They both know they need to “seal the deal” but go for the slow way around by Jamie telling stories.

weddingnight1

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 9.54.40 AM

“Tell me about your family”. Love Jamie’s smile and Claire turns on the breaks.

I’ve never seen two people drink so much and still stay awake.

Rupert and Angus barge in which breaks the tension and Claire says they should go to bed. Jamie’s all “To bed… or to sleep?”

Then quite possibly the sexiest undressing I’ve ever seen takes place.

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.03.46 AM

 

There are some great lines from the book scattered through these moments. I love how real and honest this scene is. Jamie is a virgin, after all, and the desire and hunger in his face is palpable. You can see how much he wants to touch her, but there is still the slightest bit of hesitation. Even their first sexual encounter is honest. Short, sweet, and without much fanfare. He thinks it’s the BEST. THING. EVER. and she’s like “yeah… ”

The show is broken up in 3 different sex scenes. The first breaking the barrier between them, the second the exploration of a lover, and the third we see love. They are distinct and lovely.

It’s also broken up in the 3 stories Jamie tells of the things he did to make their wedding day as special as it could be.

The first being a priest, the second, a ring, and the third, a dress.

So let’s talk about this ring…

theringIt’s not in the book, and it’s created a big stir in the Outlander community.

If you’ve heard the podcast, Ron wanted a ring that would mean something and that she could keep on (as the ring she got in the book was Jamie’s fathers and it was too big).

I love this ring. I love how it translates on screen, I love how rustic and “18th century” it looks against her modern smooth gold band. As much as people are connected and loyal to the ring that comes to Claire later in the book, I am sure this one will probably be inscribed as well, and it will find a special place in our hearts just like that one did. It has it’s place in the show and no one is taking the other ring away from us book lovers.

Speaking of controversies, they also left out a very important conversation between Jamie and Claire about honesty. I feel like the wedding episode probably wasn’t the most fitting time to put it in, and we’ll probably see it this Saturday. Hold your horses, friends.

Now, the dress… Bless Ned Gowan. This is also different from the book in that they pick up the dress at a brothel and it’s new, rather than smelling of it’s previous wearer. I’m absolutely obsessed with the dress Terry designed. It’s so stunning. The sleeves look like they could just blow away, the stomacher is embroidered in this elaborate acorn and oak leave design, and there is mica in the skirt to make it shimmer. So, so lovely.

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.22.28 AM

thedress thedress1 thedress2 jame

 

And can we just stop and appreciate how in-freaking-credible Jamie looks as well.

If you want to learn more about the dress, I suggest visiting Terry’s Blog Here. 

thewedding thewedding1 Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.31.56 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.32.15 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.32.38 AM

 

I actually kind of love the blood letting and handfasting even though Dougal made it a bit unpleasant.

Then the vows we all know and loved said in Gaelic.

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.35.26 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.35.51 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.36.25 AM

 

I’m just going to leave these here. I did decide not to screen cap any bums or dangly bits as my mom visits this blog, and out of respect of our actors. (hey mom!) Needless to say, there was sex and it was hot.

There is a delightful scene with Dougal and Claire (that’s sarcasm) where he kind of comes on to her. Show Dougal has so many more layers than book Dougal and I find myself going back and forth with my feelings towards him.

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.42.02 AM

The scene where Jamie gives Claire his mother’s pearls is so painfully beautiful. This the start of the love between these two characters that we will just continue to see grow.

In the morning, reality sets in as Jamie leaves and Claire picks up her dress and Frank’s ring falls to the floor. She puts it on with the most perfect “what have I done?” look upon her face.

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.50.11 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.50.24 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.50.40 AM claire

And our episode closes. I think this episode was magnificently shot. It’s so sweeping and beautiful and the general arc of it is so well thought out. It was nice to take a break from the violence for just one little moment of bliss.

Pictures from FarFarAwaySite.

Screen grabs by me.

 

One thought on “The Wedding recap – Episode 107

  1. Cheryl

    I found your lovely site when looking for a pattern for Claire’s cowl.
    It’s one of my favorite Outlander pages, and your wedding review is
    fab. Many thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

